FAQ

General questions

How many RAL COLOURS are there?

There are a total of 2,530 RAL colours – 215 shades are included in the RAL CLASSIC colour collection, 1,825 shades in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus and a selection of 490 shades are available in the RAL EFFECT colour collection.

Can I also buy paints and coatings at RAL?

RAL does not sell any coating materials and also does not produce them. RAL deals exclusively with the definition and standardisation of shades and produces binding colour templates for them. You can find colour charts, colour templates as well as individual colour samples and design boxes at RAL. You can buy coating materials in a desired RAL shade either in building supply and DIY stores or in specialist paint shops.

Why are there various colour charts and design boxes?

Colour charts help you to select colours as a guide and aid. Even if they give a good impression, they are not binding. The RAL 840-HR and RAL 841-GL registers for RAL CLASSIC and RAL E1 for RAL EFFECT are binding colour templates. We can satisfy a wide range of our customers’ requests regarding flexibility, presentation of shades and cost-effectiveness with the wide range of colour design tools we offer.

What differentiates colour charts which were produced in the varnish procedure from colour charts printed in 4C?

In principle, printed colour charts are cheaper to produce, but have fundamental deficiencies regarding the appearance of RAL shades. Colour samples produced using the varnish procedure cover a much more comprehensive colour space than is possible using the 4C printing process. This means that colour samples produced using the established 4C printing technology do not reproduce all the RAL shades in their true colour. For this reason, all the original RAL colour samples are produced exclusively with varnish systems, which are also used for industrial applications.

Are RAL colours also available in a digital form?

Yes. RAL DIGITAL 5.1 is a software, in which all the RAL colour ranges for graphics and CAD programs are integrated. The software contains information about RGB, CMYK, HLC as well as Lab and HEX values and offers many design functionalities. You can find out more information about the many options available with RAL DIGITAL 5.1 here.

Why are the RAL colour numbers of different lengths?

RAL CLASSIC

The four-digit colour numbers belong to the 215 RAL CLASSIC colours, four-digit numbers with a hyphen to the 490 RAL EFFECT colours and the 1,825 colours in the RAL DESIGN System plus each have seven-digit colour numbers.

The four-digit numbering in the RAL CLASSIC colour collection goes back to the original entries at the Reichausschuss für Lieferbedingungen (Imperial Committee for Deliveries, RAL) and have been used for almost 100 years throughout the world.

RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus

Seven-digit colour numbers in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus provide direct information about the visual appearance of the corresponding shade. The first three figures identify the position of the shade on the colour circle, the next two figures describe the lightness of a shade (0 = black / 100 = white). The two last figures of a shade in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus describe the level of colourfulness (0 = grey / 100 = pure colourfulness).

RAL EFFECT

The four-digit colour numbers in the RAL EFFECT collection are based on the principle of consistent colour family grading. Every colour family has been given a three-digit basic number. The latter is supplemented with a number after the hyphen for the full tones, plus a special identifier for the associated metallic shades.

Are the shades in a product line of RAL colours also included in other product lines?

The three product lines RAL CLASSIC, RAL EFFECT and RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus are independent of each other. The RAL EFFECT colour collection is an exception as it includes 100 shades from the RAL CLASSIC colour collection. The RAL DIGITAL 5.1 software offers the option of finding the closest colour to a certain RAL colour in a different colour collection (RAL or external).

Can companies arrange for their corporate colours to be standardised?

In order to have colours standardised at RAL, companies can submit a colour sample and RAL will produce true-colour proof register cards on this basis. The same strict quality requirements apply to the production of these register cards as to the production of the colour register cards in the RAL colour ranges.

The new corporate colour is available only to the relevant company and is not passed on to any other companies by RAL. RAL cannot provide industrial property rights for these colours and this is the responsibility of the company which awarded RAL the contract.

Where can I find information about historical RAL colours?

You can find information about historical RAL colours by telephoning 01805 – 74 80 66 (14 cent/min. on a German land line).

Questions about RAL CLASSIC

How is the RAL CLASSIC colour collection structured?

RAL CLASSIC is a collection which has grown historically and currently includes 215 shades. Two of these are micaceous iron colours, five are daylight luminous colours and 15 are pearlescent colours. In order to be included in the colour collection, a colour must not only be of specific interest to the company, it is also not permitted to be based on fashionable influences and must serve a superior public interest. Examples of this are the applications of RAL colours in the field of traffic signage or public authority vehicles (fire brigade, police, etc.).

How do the designations of the RAL CLASSIC colours come about?

The RAL CLASSIC colours have a four-digit number combined with the "RAL" brand (e.g. RAL 1028). The first figure is systematic (1: yellow, 2: orange, 3: red, 4: purple, 5: blue, 6: green, 7: grey, 8: brown and 9: white and black shades), the remaining three figures are selected consecutively. The name of a shade (e.g Melon yellow for RAL 1028) is a descriptive colour name. Both should be used for clear identification to reduce the risk of confusion.

Why are there gaps in the numbering of the colours?

The RAL CLASSIC colour collection has continued to develop further over many decades. This also means that shades whose public meaning has changed over time are now no longer included in the range. Also shades, which can no longer be produced using the latest technology, are no longer included in the collection. However, as these colour numbers continue to have been awarded and in order to avoid misunderstandings, the corresponding colour numbers were not given to new colours.

Does the RAL CLASSIC range also include the camouflage colours of the German Federal Armed Forces?

As the camouflage colours of the German Federal Armed Forces have a very specific area of application, although they are included in the RAL CLASSIC shades, they are not included when presenting the other RAL CLASSIC shades. The camouflage numbers can be identified by their four-digit colour number and the descriptive colour name as part of the RAL CLASSIC colour collection, and at the same time their special status is identified by the F9 supplement.

Current camouflage colours:

  • RAL 1039-F9 Sand beige
  • RAL 1040-F9 Loam beige
  • RAL 6031-F9 Bronze green
  • RAL 6040-F9-Light olive
  • RAL 7050-F9 Camouflage grey
  • RAL 8027-F9 Leather brown
  • RAL 8031-F9 Sand brown
  • RAL 9021-F9 Tar black

as well as RAL 6031 HR Bronze green for the non-camouflage technical field. You can find further information about RAL F9 camouflage colours here.

Why are plastic colour samples also included in the RAL CLASSIC colour collection?

In addition to presenting RAL shades on a varnish basis, the increasing importance of plastic-based materials over the last few decades has made it necessary to develop RAL shades on alternative materials. The multifunctional boards made of polypropylene which are currently available considerably simplify the reproduction of RAL colours in the field of plastics. The RAL P1 product includes the 100 most popular RAL CLASSIC colours. Three different board thicknesses as well as three different surface structures highlight the versatility of the material and the colour as well as the variety of applications. Colourmetric details and further information can be found on the protective casing, in which the boards are packed individually.

In conjunction with the RAL P2 product from the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus, there are a total of 300 RAL shades available on plastic colour samples.

How are new shades incorporated in the RAL CLASSIC colour collection?

The following guidelines must be satisfied for a shade to be included in the colour collection:

  • The colour must be of vital public interest and must not be subject to short-term fashion influences.
  • The colour must have a certain minimum variation from colours which are already in existence.
  • The shade must be able to be reproduced with the usual commercially available pigment systems.
  • The shade must be able to be produced so that it is weather resistant.

If all the requirements have been satisfied and if RAL decides to include it in the register, the procedure is as follows:

  • RAL receives a binding, fully varnished sample of the colour to be included.
  • RAL arranges the production of colour cards, which are monitored solely by RAL.

Or

  • RAL receives a sample which is not fully varnished, e.g. fabric, printed colour or plastic sample of the colour which is to be included.
  • Test coatings of the samples which have been reproduced are submitted for approval to the applicant. After approval has been obtained by the applicant, production of the colour cards and their monitoring are the responsibility of RAL.

The colour cards can be obtained by anyone via RAL and use of the colour is not limited to the original application.

We would be delighted to provide you with more information on an individual basis about all the details & costs arising.

Questions about RAL EFFECT

What is RAL EFFECT?

RAL EFFECT is another product range from RAL. The colour collection includes 70 metallic colours, which harmonise with the 420 plain shades. The plain colours are based on water-soluble varnishes, while the metallic colours are based on acrylic varnishes. Many paint producers have the RAL EFFECT colours in their mixing machines and can offer the latter. The 100 most popular shades from the RAL CLASSIC colour collection are included in the RAL EFFECT colour collection.

The four-digit numbers in the RAL EFFECT collection are based on the principle of consistent colour family listing. Every colour family has been given a three-digit basic number. This is supplemented with a consecutive figure after the hyphen for the full shades,while the metallic shades in the range show the end identifier - M.

What is the difference between four-digit RAL colour numbers and four-digit colour numbers with a hyphen before the last figure?

RAL colour numbers with four figures and a hyphen originate from the RAL EFFECT collection, while four-digit colours without a hyphen belong to the RAL CLASSIC collection.

In which areas is RAL EFFECT used?

The RAL EFFECT colour collection can be used everywhere where you are working with metallic effects. This is the case for example in the printing industry when packaging or products are intended to have a metallic effect. However, the most frequent area of application is in industrial powder coating, for example when coating furniture, dividing wall systems or window frames and doors.

Questions about RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus

Does the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus satisfy a standard or agreement?

The structure of the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus follows the L*a*b* colour system, which is used internationally and was stipulated by the CIE (International Commission on Illumination) in 1976. The “L” stands for: Lightness, namely the lightness of a colour in the colour space. 0 describes a pure black, an L-value of 100 corresponds to a pure white. The value “a” describes the position of a colour on the red-green axis, with negative values meaning a deviation from zero towards green, while positive values mean deviations in the direction of red. The b-value represents the position of a shade on the yellow-blue axis (negative values for blue, positive values for yellow). The grey point or neutral point in the CIE Lab-model is located at a = b = 0. The CIE LAB formalism is described in detail in DIN EN ISO 11664-4, you can find further information about the structure of the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus here.

How are the colour numbers in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus composed?

In principle, the structure of the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus follows the CIE Lab colour space, according to which all the shades are sorted according to hue, lightness and chroma and arranged in a logical mathematical way.

Building on this, the first set of three letters in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus corresponds to the hue H, the first pair to the lightness L and the second pair to the chroma C. This means that for example the shade RAL 270 30 20 is a dark blue with the hue H = 270, the lightness L = 30 and the chroma C = 20.

When using achromatic grey shades, particular attention needs to be paid to ensure that the latter have the hue H = 0. Nevertheless, it is vital that the shade designation shows the first three digits of 000 because otherwise it is easy to confuse it with a shade in the RAL CLASSIC colour collection. Therefore, for example the shade 000 50 00 from the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus is a grey shade (hue H = 0 and chroma C = 0), while the shade RAL 5000 from the RAL CLASSIC colour collection is an intense blue shade.

What shades form the colour circle?

When designing the RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus the CIE Lab colour circle was divided into segments of 10 degrees each. As the human eye can perceive more shades in the yellow-red area, three additional intermediate steps were incorporated here. Therefore 39 hues form the basis of the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus. These shades have a medium to high lightness as well as a high chroma, which makes them ideal “representatives” of this colour. They are the “loudest”, most intense shades for the relevant hue.

What changes were made during the most recent revision in 2018?

Since the most recent revision in 2018 users have a much more comprehensive selection of light, pastel shades available and a total of 200 new shades have been added. In addition, new opportunities in the industrial production of colours were used to be able to offer shades, which were not yet able to be manufactured when the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM was launched 25 years ago or only with a great deal of time/effort (so-called off-whites).

Furthermore, the new shades have closed small gaps in the existing system so that users of the new RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus now have even more opportunities to develop and use basic, simple colour concepts on the basis of the structure of the RAL DESIGN SYTEM plus.

Are there also colour names apart from the shade number in the new RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus?

With the extensive expansion of the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus in 2018, associative colour names were also developed for these shades. They should be regarded as a support for the mathematically precise determination of the shade position and give the user of a shade ideas and inspiration.

The colour names are shown in German, English, French, Russian and Chinese.

Are the colours in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus also available in digital form?

Yes. RAL DIGITAL 5.1 is a software, in which all the RAL colour ranges for graphics and CAD programs are integrated. The software contains the values of various colour models such as RGB, CMYK, HLC, Lab and Hex and offers a wide range of design functionalities. It is also possible to find the perfect shade quickly or compile harmonious colour combinations, based on various criteria and specifications, extremely easily with RAL DIGITAL 5.1. You can find further information about RAL DIGITAL here.

Does the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus contain shades from the other RAL colour ranges?

The RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus continued its consistent orientation based on the CIE Lab colour space when it was reviewed in 2018. However, the colours in the RAL CLASSIC colour collection are distributed unsystematically over the colour space as they were developed on the basis of very specific requirements over the years, but not to follow a certain system. Against this background, there is no shade-related overlapping between the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus and the two other RAL colour ranges.

Are there shades in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus which are also available in other materials?

There is the option of also obtaining the 200 most popular colours in the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus as plastic colour samples. The name of the product is RAL P2 and it contains 160 full colours and 40 transparent colours.

The multifunctional boards made of polypropylene simplify the reproduction of the RAL colours in plastic and therefore considerably expand the area of application of the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus. Regardless of whether it’s for household appliances, toys, packaging of any kind, or on its own or in conjunction with other materials, plastics can now be found in every area of everyday life. Colour design in conjunction with plastics has therefore become an everyday occurrence which is similar to colour concepts in architecture or in art. As a result, it was only logical that RAL FARBEN developed the most important shades also as plastic templates.

Three different board thicknesses as well as three different surface structures highlight the versatility of the material and the colour as well as the variety of applications. Colourmetric details and further information can be found on the protective casing, in which the boards are packed individually.

Why are there so many different products for the RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus?

The new RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus offers the ideal product for every area of application with a wide range of different products. Whether it’s a fast colour comparison using the RAL D2 colour charts or the development of a sophisticated colour composition with the assistance of a RAL D6 box: as varied as the requirements of our customers are, the options to cover these requirements with the products in the new RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus are just as comprehensive.

What do you need for further understanding of RAL COLOURS?

We bundled important questions and listed them here. Should you still miss a point, please write to us. We look forward to your questions.

FAQ

Allgemeine Fragen

Wie viele RAL FARBEN gibt es?

Es gibt insgesamt 2.530 RAL Farben – 215 Farbtöne sind in der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC enthalten, 1.825 Farbtöne umfasst das RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus und eine Auswahl aus 490 Farbtönen bietet die Farbkollektion RAL EFFECT.

Kann ich bei RAL auch Farben & Lacke kaufen?

RAL verkauft keine Anstrichstoffe und stellt sie auch nicht her. RAL beschäftigt sich ausschließlich mit der Definition und Standardisierung von Farbtönen und produziert für diese verbindliche Farbvorlagen. Bei RAL erhalten Sie Farbkarten, Farbvorlagen sowie Einzelfarbmuster und Gestaltungsboxen. Anstrichstoffe in einem gewünschten RAL Farbton erhalten Sie entweder in Bau- & Heimwerkermärkten oder im spezialisierten Malerfachhandel.

Warum gibt es verschiedene Farbfächer & Gestaltungsboxen?

Farbfächer dienen bei der Auswahl von Farben als Orientierung und Hilfestellung. Auch wenn sie einen guten Eindruck vermitteln, sind sie nicht verbindlich. Als verbindliche Farbvorlagen dienen die Register RAL 840-HR und RAL 841-GL für RAL CLASSIC sowie RAL E1 für RAL EFFECT. Mit der Vielzahl an angebotenen Farbgestaltungswerkzeugen erfüllen wir die unterschiedlichen Wünsche unserer Kunden im Hinblick auf Flexibilität, Darstellungsform der Farbtöne und Wirtschaftlichkeit.

Was unterscheidet Farbfächer, die im Lackzugverfahren hergestellt wurden von Farbfächern im 4C-Druck?

Grundsätzlich sind gedruckte Farbfächer in der Produktion günstiger, sie weisen jedoch grundlegende Mängel in Bezug auf die Darstellung von RAL Farbtönen auf. Im Lackzugverfahren hergestellte Farbmuster decken einen deutlich umfassenderen Farbraum ab, als dieses im 4C-Druckverfahren möglich ist. Daher können mit den gängigen 4C-Drucktechniken herstellte Farbmuster nicht alle RAL Farbtöne farbecht nachgestellt werden. Aus diesem Grund werden alle Original RAL Farbmuster ausschließlich mit Lacksystemen hergestellt, die auch bei industriellen Anwendungen eingesetzt werden.

Gibt es die RAL Farben auch in digitaler Form?

RAL DIGITAL 5.1 ist eine Software, in der alle RAL Farbpaletten für Grafik- und CAD-Programme integriert sind. Die Software enthält Angaben von RGB, CMYK, HLC sowie Lab- und HEX-Werten und bietet viele gestalterische Funktionalitäten. Mehr Informationen zu den vielfältigen Möglichkeiten von RAL DIGITAL 5.1 erhalten Sie hier.

Warum gibt es unterschiedliche lange RAL Farbnummern?

RAL CLASSIC

Die vierstelligen Farbnummern gehören zu den 215 RAL CLASSIC Farben, vierstellige Nummern mit Bindestrich zu den 490 RAL EFFECT Farben und die 1.825 Farben des RAL DESIGN Systems plus haben jeweils siebenstellige Farbnummern.

Die vierstelligen Nummerierungen der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC gehen zurück auf die ursprünglichen Eintragungen beim Reichausschuss für Lieferbedingungen und werden seit nahezu 100 Jahren in der ganzen Welt verwendet.

RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus

Siebenstellige Farbnummern des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus geben einen unmittelbaren Aufschluss über die Optik des entsprechenden Farbtons. Die ersten drei Ziffern kennzeichnen die Position des Farbtons auf dem Farbkreis, die beiden folgenden Ziffern beschreiben die Helligkeit eines Farbtons (0= Schwarz / 100 = Weiß). Die beiden letzten Ziffern eines Farbtons im RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus beschreiben den Grad der Buntheit (0= Grau / 100 = Reine Buntheit).

RAL EFFECT

Die vierstelligen Farbnummern der Kollektion RAL EFFECT basieren auf dem Prinzip der konsistenten Farbfamiliennotierung. Jede Farbfamilie hat eine dreistellige Basisnummer erhalten. Diese wird mit einer Ziffer nach dem Bindestrich für die Volltöne ergänzt, plus einer speziellen Kennung für die zugehörigen Metallic-Farbtöne.

Sind Farbtöne einer Produktlinie von RAL Farben auch in anderen Produktlinien enthalten?

Die drei Produktlinien RAL CLASSIC, RAL EFFECT und RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus sind unabhängig voneinander. Eine Ausnahme bildet die Farbkollektion RAL EFFECT, in der 100 Farbtöne aus der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC enthalten sind. Die Software RAL DIGITAL 5.1 bietet die Möglichkeit, zu einer bestimmten RAL Farbe eine nächstgelegene Farbe in einer anderen Farbkollektion (RAL oder extern) zu finden.

Können sich Unternehmen ihre Unternehmensfarben standardisieren lassen?

Um Farben bei RAL standardisieren zu lassen, reichen Unternehmen ein Farbmuster ein, auf dessen Basis RAL farbverbindliche Farbregisterkarten herstellt. Für die Herstellung dieser Registerkarten gelten die gleichen strengen Qualitätsanforderungen wie für die Produktion der Farbregisterkarten der RAL Farbpaletten.

Die neue Unternehmensfarbe steht nur dem jeweiligen Unternehmen zur Verfügung und wird von RAL nicht an andere Unternehmen weitergegeben. RAL kann für diese Farben keinen gewerblichen Rechtsschutz vergeben, dieses ist Aufgabe des auftraggebenden Unternehmens.

Wo erhalte ich Informationen über historische RAL Farben?

Informationen über historische RAL Farben erhalten Sie telefonisch unter Tel. 01805 – 74 80 66 (14 Cent/Min. aus dem dt. Festnetz).

Fragen zu RAL CLASSIC

Wie ist die Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC aufgebaut?

RAL CLASSIC ist eine historisch gewachsene Sammlung von zurzeit 215 Farben. Davon sind 2 Eisenglimmerfarben, 5 Tagesleuchtfarben und 15 Perlglanzfarben. Um in die Farbsammlung aufgenommen zu werden, muss eine Farbe von nicht nur unternehmensspezifischem Interesse sein, sie darf keinen modischen Einflüssen unterliegen und muss einem übergeordneten öffentlichen Interesse dienen. Beispiele hierfür sind die Anwendungen von RAL Farben im Bereich der Verkehrskennzeichen oder bei den hoheitlichen Fahrzeugen (Feuerwehr, Polizei, etc.).

Wie kommen die Bezeichnungen der RAL CLASSIC Farben zustande?

Die RAL CLASSIC Farben haben eine vierstellige Nummer in Verbindung mit der Marke "RAL" (z.B. RAL 1028). Die erste Ziffer ist systematisch (1: gelbe, 2: orange, 3: rote, 4: violette, 5: blaue, 6: grüne, 7: graue, 8: braune und 9: weiße und schwarze Farbtöne), die restlichen drei Ziffern werden fortlaufend gewählt. Der Name eines Farbtons (z.B. Melonengelb für RAL 1028) ist ein beschreibender Farbname. Zur eindeutigen Kennzeichnung sollte beides verwendet werden, dadurch wird die Verwechslungsgefahr gemindert.

Warum gibt es in der Nummerierung der Farben Lücken?

Die Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC hat sich im Laufe der Jahrzehnte stetig weiterentwickelt. Dazu gehört auch, dass Farbtöne, deren öffentliche Bedeutung sich im Zeitablauf geändert hat, heute nicht mehr aufgeführt werden. Auch Farbtöne, die nicht mehr nach dem aktuellen Stand der Technik produziert werden können, sind heute nicht mehr in der Sammlung enthalten. Da diese Farbnummern aber nach wie vor vergeben sind und um Missverständnissen vorzubeugen, wurden die entsprechenden Farbnummern nicht mehr neu belegt.

Beinhaltet RAL CLASSIC auch die Tarnfarben der Bundeswehr?

Da die Tarnfarben der Bundeswehr einem sehr speziellen Anwendungsbereich unterliegen, werden sie zwar zu den RAL CLASSIC Farbtönen gerechnet, entfallen aber bei der Darstellung der sonstigen RAL CLASSIC Farbtöne. Die Tarnfarben sind an ihrer vierstelligen Farbnummer und dem beschreibenden Farbnamen als Teil der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC zu erkennen, gleichzeitig wird ihre Besonderheit durch den Zusatz -F9 kenntlich gemacht.

Tarnfarben zurzeit:

  • RAL 1039-F9 Sandbeige
  • RAL 1040-F9 Lehmbeige
  • RAL 6031-F9 Bronzegrün
  • RAL 6040-F9-Helloliv
  • RAL 7050-F9 Tarngrau
  • RAL 8027-F9 Lederbraun
  • RAL 8031-F9 Sandbraun
  • RAL 9021-F9 Teerschwarz

sowie RAL 6031 HR Bronzegrün für den nichttarntechnischen Bereich. Weitere Informationen über RAL F9 Tarnfarben finden Sie hier.

Warum sind in der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC auch Kunststofffarbmuster enthalten?

Neben einer Darstellung von RAL Farbtönen auf Lackbasis hat die zunehmende Bedeutung kunststoffbasierter Materialien in den letzten Jahrzehnten die Entwicklung von RAL Farbtönen auf alternativen Materialien notwendig gemacht. Die heute verfügbaren multifunktionalen Platten aus Polypropylen vereinfachen das Nachstellen der RAL Farben im Kunststoffbereich maßgeblich. Das Produkt RAL P1 beinhaltet die 100 beliebtesten RAL CLASSIC Farben. Drei Abstufungen der Plattendicke sowie drei verschiedene Oberflächenstrukturen verdeutlichen die Wandelbarkeit des Materials und der Farbe sowie die vielseitige Einsetzbarkeit. Farbmetrische Details und weitere Informationen sind auf der Schutzhülle zu finden, in der die Platten einzeln verpackt sind.

In Verbindung mit dem Produkt RAL P2 aus dem RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus stehen insgesamt 300 RAL Farbtöne aus Kunststofffarbmuster zur Verfügung.

Wie funktioniert die Neuaufnahme eines Farbtons in die RAL CLASSIC Farbsammlung?

Um als neuer Farbton in die Farbsammlung aufgenommen zu werden, muss dieser den folgenden Richtlinien genügen:

  • Die Farbe muss von übergeordnetem öffentlichem Interesse sein und darf keinen kurzfristigen modischen Einflüssen unterliegen.
  • Die Farbe muss einen bestimmten Mindestabstand zu bereits vorhandenen Farben haben.
  • Der Farbton muss mit handelsüblichen Pigmentsystemen nachstellbar sein.
  • Der Farbton muss witterungsbeständig hergestellt werden können.

Sind alle Anforderungen erfüllt und wird seitens von RAL eine Aufnahme in das Register beschlossen, so wird wie folgt verfahren:

  • RAL erhält ein verbindliches, deckend lackiertes Muster der aufzunehmenden Farbe.
  • RAL veranlasst die Herstellung der Farbkarten, deren Überwachung allein in Händen von RAL liegt.

Oder

  • RAL erhält ein nicht deckendes lackiertes Muster, z. B. Stoff-, Druckfarb- oder Kunststoffmuster, der aufzunehmenden Farbe.
  • Probeaufstriche von nachgestellten Mustern werden zur Abstimmung dem Antragsteller vorgelegt. Nach erfolgter Genehmigung durch den Antragsteller liegen die Fertigung der Farbkarten und deren Überwachung allein in Händen von RAL.

Die Farbkarten können von jedem über RAL bezogen werden, die Verwendung der Farbe ist nicht auf den ursprünglichen Einsatz beschränkt.

Gerne informieren wir Sie persönlich über alle Details & anfallenden Kosten.

Fragen zu RAL EFFECT

Was ist RAL EFFECT?

RAL EFFECT ist eine weitere Produktlinie von RAL. Die Farbkollektion beinhaltet 70 Metallic-Farben, die mit den 420 Uni-Farbtönen harmonisieren. Die Uni-Farben basieren auf wasserlöslichen Lacken, die Metallic-Farben basieren auf Acryllacken. Viele Farbhersteller haben die RAL EFFECT Farben in ihren Mischmaschinen und können diese anbieten. In der Farbkollektion RAL EFFECT sind die 100 populärsten Farbtöne aus der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC enthalten.

Die vierstelligen Nummern der Kollektion RAL EFFECT basieren auf dem Prinzip der konsistenten Farbfamiliennotierung. Jede Farbfamilie hat eine dreistellige Basisnummer erhalten. Diese wird mit einer fortlaufenden Ziffer nach dem Bindestrich für die Volltöne ergänzt, die zugehörigen Metallic-Farbtöne zeigen die Endkennung - M.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen vierstelligen RAL Farbnummern und vierstelligen Farbnummern mit einem Bindestrich vor der letzten Ziffer?

RAL Farbnummern mit vier Ziffern und Bindestrich stammen aus der Kollektion RAL EFFECT, wohingegen die vierstelligen Farben ohne Bindestrich der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC angehören.

In welchen Bereichen kommt RAL EFFECT zur Anwendung?

Die Farbkollektion RAL EFFECT kann überall dort eingesetzt werden, wo mit metallischen Effekten gearbeitet wird. Dieses ist zum Beispiel in der Druckindustrie der Fall, wenn Verpackungen oder Produkte einen metallischen Effekt aufweisen sollen. Der häufigste Anwendungsbereich liegt jedoch in der industriellen Pulverbeschichtung, zum Beispiel bei der Beschichtung von Möbeln, bei Trennwandsystemen oder bei Fensterrahmen und Türen.

Fragen zum RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus

Entspricht das RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus einer Norm oder Vereinbarung?

Der Aufbau des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus folgt dem 1976 von der CIE (Commission Internationale d'Eclairage) festgelegten international verwendeten L*a*b*-Farbsystem. Dabei steht L (Englisch: Lightness) für die Helligkeit einer Farbe im Farbraum. 0 beschreibt ein reines Schwarz, ein L-Wert von 100 entspricht einem reinen Weiß. Der Wert a beschreibt die Position einer Farbe auf der Rot-Grün-Achse, dabei stehen negative Werte für eine Abweichung vom Nullpunkt in Richtung Grün, positive Werte hingegen für Abweichungen in Richtung Rot. Der b-Wert stellt die Position eines Farbtons auf der Gelb-Blau-Achse dar (negative Werte für Blau, positive Werte für Gelb). Der Graupunkt oder Neutralpunkt im CIELab-Modell befindet sich bei a = b = 0. Der CIELAB-Formalismus ist ausführlich in der DIN EN ISO 11664-4 beschrieben, weitere Informationen zum Aufbau des RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus finden Sie hier.

Wie setzen sich die Farbnummern beim RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus zusammen?

Grundsätzlich folgt der Aufbau des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus dem CIELab-Farbraum, demzufolge sind alle Farbtöne nach Buntton, Helligkeit und Buntheit sortiert und mathematisch logisch angeordnet.

Darauf aufbauend entspricht das erste Zahlentripel im RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus dem Buntton H, das erste Paar der Helligkeit L und das zweite Paar der Buntheit C. So ist z.B. der Farbton RAL 270 30 20 ein dunkles Blau mit dem Buntton H = 270, der Helligkeit L = 30 und der Buntheit C = 20.

Bei der Verwendung unbunter Grautöne ist besondere Aufmerksamkeit erforderlich, da diese den Buntton H = 0 aufweisen. Dennoch müssen bei der Farbtonbezeichnung unbedingt die ersten drei Stellen mit 000 ausgewiesen werden, da es ansonsten leicht zu einer Verwechslung mit einem Farbton der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC kommen kann. So ist z. B. der Farbton 000 50 00 aus dem RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus ein grauer Farbton (Buntton H = 0 und Sättigung C = 0), während der Farbton RAL 5000 aus der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC ein intensiver Blauton ist.

Welche Farbtöne bilden den Farbkreis?

Bei der Konzipierung des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus wurde der CIELab-Farbkreis in Segmente von jeweils 10 Grad eingeteilt. Da das menschliche Auge im Bereich Gelb-Rot mehr Farbtöne wahrnehmen kann, wurden hier drei zusätzliche Zwischenschritte eingebaut. Somit bilden 39 Bunttöne (Hue) die Basis im RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus. Diese Farbtöne weisen eine mittlere bis hohe Helligkeit sowie eine hohe Sättigung auf, was sie zu idealen „Repräsentanten“ dieser Farbe macht. Sie sind die „lautesten“, intensivsten Farbtöne für den jeweiligen Buntton.

Welche Änderungen wurden bei der letzten Überarbeitung 2018 vorgenommen?

Seit der letzten Überarbeitung im Jahr 2018 stehen Anwendern eine deutlich umfassendere Auswahl im Bereich der hellen, pastelligen Töne zur Verfügung, insgesamt wurden 200 neue Farbtöne hinzugefügt. Darüber hinaus wurden neue Möglichkeiten in der industriellen Herstellung von Farben genutzt, um Farbtöne anbieten zu können, die bei der Einführung des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS vor 25 Jahren noch nicht oder nur mit sehr hohem Aufwand produziert werden konnten (sogenannte Off-Whites).

Daneben sind mit den neuen Farbtönen kleinere Lücken in der bestehenden Systematik geschlossen worden, sodass Anwender des neuen RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus nun noch mehr Möglichkeiten haben, grundlegende, einfache Farbkonzepte auf Basis der Struktur des RAL DESIGN SYTEMS plus zu entwickeln und zu nutzen.

Gibt es beim neuen RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus außer der Farbtonnummer auch Farbnamen?

Mit der grundlegenden Erweiterung des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus im Jahr 2018 wurden auch für diese Farbtöne assoziative Farbnamen entwickelt. Diese sind als Unterstützung zur mathematisch exakten Bestimmung der Farbtonposition zu sehen und geben dem Anwender eines Farbtons Anregung und Inspiration.

Die Farbnamen stehen in deutscher, englischer, französischer, russischer und chinesischer Sprache zur Verfügung.

Gibt es die Farben des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus auch in digitaler Form?

Ja. RAL DIGITAL 5.1 ist eine Software, in der alle RAL Farbpaletten für Grafik- und CAD-Programme integriert sind. Die Software beinhaltet die Werte verschiedener Farbmodelle, wie z.B. RGB, CMYK, HLC, Lab und Hex und bietet viele gestalterische Funktionalitäten. Auch das schnelle Auffinden des perfekten Farbtons oder die Erstellung harmonischer Farbkombinationen, basierend auf unterschiedlichsten Kriterien und Spezifikationen, sind mit RAL DIGITAL 5.1 problemlos möglich. Weitere Informationen zu RAL DIGITAL finden Sie hier.

Enthält das RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus Farbtöne aus den anderen RAL Farbpaletten?

Das RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus hat mit seiner Überarbeitung im Jahr 2018 die konsequente Orientierung am CIELab-Farbraum fortgesetzt. Die Farben der Farbsammlung RAL CLASSIC hingegen sind unsystematisch im Farbraum verteilt, da sie im Laufe der Jahre im Hinblick auf sehr spezifische Anforderungen entwickelt wurden, nicht jedoch, um einer gewissen Systematik zu folgen. Vor diesem Hintergrund gibt es keine farbtonbezogenen Überschneidungen zwischen dem RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus und den zwei anderen RAL Farbpaletten.

Gibt es Farbtöne des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus auch in anderen Materialien?

Es besteht die Möglichkeit, die 200 populärsten Farben des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus auch als Kunststofffarbmuster zu erhalten. Der Name des Produktes lautet RAL P2, es enthält 160 Vollfarben und 40 transparente Farben.

Die multifunktionalen Platten aus Polypropylen vereinfachen das Nachstellen der RAL Farben im Kunststoffbereich und erweitern somit den Anwendungsbereich des RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus erheblich. Egal ob Haushaltsgeräte, Spielzeug, Verpackungen jeglicher Art, ob allein oder in Verbindung mit anderen Materialien, Kunststoffe finden sich heute in allen Bereichen des täglichen Lebens. Farbgestaltung in Verbindung mit Kunststoffen ist demzufolge inzwischen ebenso alltäglich geworden, wie Farbkonzepte in der Architektur oder in der Kunst. Somit war es nur folgerichtig, dass RAL FARBEN die wichtigsten Farbtöne auch als Kunststoffvorlagen entwickelt hat.

Drei Abstufungen der Plattendicke sowie drei verschiedene Oberflächenstrukturen verdeutlichen die Wandelbarkeit des Materials und der Farbe sowie die vielseitige Einsetzbarkeit. Farbmetrische Details und weitere Informationen sind auf der Schutzhülle zu finden, in der die Platten einzeln verpackt sind.

Warum gibt es so viele unterschiedliche Produkte für das RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus?

Das neue RAL DESIGN SYSTEM plus bietet mit einer Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Produkten für jeden Einsatzbereich das ideale Produkt. Ob schneller Farbvergleich über den Farbfächer RAL D2 oder die Entwicklung eines ausgeklügelten Farbklangs mit Hilfe einer RAL D6 Box: so unterschiedlich die Anforderungen von Seiten unserer Kunden sind, so umfangreich sind die Möglichkeiten, diese Anforderungen mit den Produkten des neuen RAL DESIGN SYSTEMS plus abzudecken.

Was benötigen Sie für das weitere Verständnis zu Produkten von RAL FARBEN?

Alle wichtigen Fragen haben wir gebündelt und hier aufgelistet. Sollten Sie dennoch einen Punkt vermissen, dann schreiben Sie uns. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Fragen.